Goodbye IC-7000, Hello FT-897D

OK I admit, I’m a sucker for Yaesu so it seems. I did trade my (2nd!) FT-897D for an IC-7000 and fair is fair, the IC-7000 is a much better radio, especially on HF and has more and better features than the FT-897D e.g. the IF DSP, voice recorder and full color TFT screen to name a few. So why get rid of it?

I can’t get used to the menus. Last time when I wanted to change the RF power, I just could not seem to find the parameter menu and had to grab for the manual. I had the same problem with the IC-706 and IC-706MKII that I had before. For some reason, I just can’t seem to grab the Icom logic behind menus. Frans, PE0F, found me a nice used FT-897D from 2004 with a compression mike plus steep flanked InRad 2.3 kHz SSB filter for a great price, I just couldn’t resist.

In the shack, I’m using the FT-897D exclusively for local rag chewing on VHF (and seldomly on UHF). During my holidays, I use it merely with digital modes, no voice so… even though I don’t like the FT-897D on HF that much, I guess it will do just fine.

 

I also like to take the FT-817ND out on short (motorbike) holidays and are kind of challenged to get a QRP /P station on the air. When 5W is the maximum power you’ve got, I guess CW is the way to go so I am training again using LCWO.net and using the FT-897D’s built-in CW trainer. Hopefully, I will persist and finally can copy 15 WPM QSO’s and in summer, actually make some /QRP CW QSO’s.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye IC-7000, Hello FT-897D

  1. Leuk, dat biedt perspectieven Bas, maar TOCH ga ik m’n CW oppoetsen. Even zitten spelen met de CW trainer van de FT-897D en 15 WPM moet gaan lukken. Niet alle letters zijn nog zo vanzelfsprekend als de a, n, k, u etc. Daar moet ik eerst even aan werken. Dan de cijfers, dan de leestekens en dan maar eens mixen. Net al even op 80m aangeroepen in 15WPM met 5W op mijn 80/40 endfed. Kwam gelijk een Engelsman retour. Gelukkig kan de FTdx-3000 redelijk “meelezen”, dat scheelt wel HI.

Geef een reactie

