Exchange FT-897D for IC-7000?!..

Do I want to swap my 2010 FT-897D for a 2007 IC-7000?… My €849 radio (current list price) for your €1295 radio (current list price)?!… You bet I do!! I know, it almost sounds too good to be true but I did make this deal with Patrick, PD4HW, tonight. He once had an FT-897D but wanted one back to make a nice “portable base station” for field days. He already had the snap-on FP-30 power supply and the LDG AT-897 tuner so it made sense for him to look for a nice FT-897D. Patrick once had the IC-7000 in his car, but was catching dust in the closet for some time so it made sense to swap.

IC-7000

We were both happy with the deal so, no regrets. Patrick got a mint FT-897D from 2010, I got a slightly older (probably 2006 or 2007) IC-7000 with some more features and functionality (IF DSP, voice recorder, colour display to name a few). Why did I swap? Just for fun. It’s my holiday radio and while on my last holiday I only made about 20 PSK31 QSO’s from France it doesn’t really matter what the performance on HF is to be honest, any radio will do just fine. At home, I did use the 897D for local 2m FM QSO´s so also here, no high standards to meet. Having considered all that and the fun I have exploring / testing / playing with radios, I decided to make the swam.

I already had a play with it and I’m quite impressed with what this little puppy can do. It’s a really nice compact radio and fair is fair, the 2,5″ colour screen just looks awesome. Thanks Patrick and have fun with the FT-897D!

Geef een reactie

